IND Vs AUS: Unadkat returns after nine years, Rohit Sharma to miss first ODI

New Delhi: IND Vs AUS ODI Series: Indian captain Rohit Sharma will miss the first one-day international against Australia on March 17 due to some family commitments, BCCI Honorary Secretary Jai Shah said on Sunday.

Vice-captain Hardik Pandya, who led India in the last T20 series against New Zealand, will lead the ODI team in Rohit’s absence, Shah said in a press release on Sunday.

Left-arm spinner Ravindra Jadeja was also called up by the selectors after his impressive bowling in the two Tests against Australia as he returned from injury. Akshar Patel and KL Rahul, who were rested for the New Zealand ODI, were also brought back as KS. Bharat and Shahbaz Ahmed were excluded.

Fast bowler Jaydev Undkat has returned to the team after a gap of 9 years. Undkat last played an ODI against the West Indies in November 2013.

Undkat will be part of a pace battery led by Mohammad Shami and includes Hardik Pandya along with Mohammad Siraj, Shardul Thakur and Umran Malik, while Kuldeep Yadav, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Akshar Patel and Jadeja are the spinners.

In-form opener Shubman Gill, who along with Virat Kohli and Suryakumar Yadav scored a double century in the first ODI against New Zealand in Hyderabad, has also secured his place in the crucial series ahead of this year’s ODI World Cup in India.

The second and third ODIs of the Ind Vs Aus series will be played at Visakhapatnam (March 19) and Chennai (March 22) respectively.

India’s ODI squad against Australia

Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, KL Rahul, Ishan Kishan (wicketman), Hardik Pandya (vice-captain), Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Shami, Siraj, Umran Malik, Shardul Thakur, Akshar Patel, Jaydev Undkat.


Read Also | North Korea Fires a Ballistic Missile Lands in Japan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *