Ajit Pawar Sworn as Deputy CM in Maharashtra Govt

Mumbai: Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) leader Ajit Pawar takes oath as Maharashtra Deputy Chief Minister at Raj Bhavan in Mumbai on sunday. Ajit Pawar joined the Eknath Shinde-led government in Maharashtra.

While Governor Ramesh Bais swore in Ajit Pawar as the Deputy Chief Minister at the Raj Bhawan ceremony, eight other NCP politicians were sworn in as ministers. Chhagan Bhujbal, Dilip Walse Patil, Hasan Mushrif, Dhananjay Munde, Aditi Tatkare, Dharmarao Atram, Anil Patil, and Sanjay Bansode were sworn in as Ministers.

Ajit Pawar has resigned as the leader of the opposition (LoP) in the Maharashtra Assembly, according to Maharashtra Assembly Speaker Rahul Narwekar, who was present in the Raj Bhawan.

According to Maharashtra BJP President Chandrashekhar Bawankule, 40 NCP MLAs (out of a total of 53) supported the state administration. Elections to the state Assembly’s 288 seats are scheduled for next year.

The political development comes a year after the Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA) government collapsed due to a revolt led by Shinde against the Shiv Sena (then undivided). Shinde was sworn in as CM on June 30, 2022, with BJP leader Devendra Fadnavis serving as deputy CM.


Trending Searches Today | Ajit Pawar Sworn in as Deputy CM in Maharashtra Govt