Matdata Junction : A Radio series launched by ECI

New Delhi: The ‘Matdata Junction’ is a 52 episode radio series produced by the Election Commission of India, in collaboration with All India Radio. Chief Election Commissioner Shri Rajiv Kumar along with Election Commissioner Shri Anup Chandra Pandey today launched this yearlong Voter Awareness Program during an event organised at Akashvani Rang Bhavan, New Delhi. Senior ECI officials, CEO Prasar Bharati, DG AIR News and ECI Icon & Actor Shri Pankaj Tripathi were also present on the occasion.

Addressing the gathering, CEC Shri Rajiv Kumar said that the program Matdata Junction, produced in collaboration with All India Radio, will be a strong platform to connect with the voters across the country. The program as a combination of information and entertainment, would specifically help address urban apathy and inform the audience about the election processes in the conduct of free, fair, transparent, inducement free, accessible and inclusive elections in an interactive communication format.

While complimenting Shri Pankaj Tripathi, Actor and ECI state icon for his association with ECI in creating awareness amongst voters, CEC Shri Rajiv Kumar announced Shri Pankaj Tripathi, would henceforth be the National Icon for Election Commission of India, keeping in view his commitment to the cause and wide appeal across the country.

Addressing the audience, Shri Pankaj Tripathi, recollected his memories of becoming a first time voter and how that process gave him not only the right of Matdan but also Samman as a contributory voice in democracy. While appreciating the efforts made by ECI for reaching out to the voters, he urged all young voters to pro-actively participate in the elections to reflect their democratic choices and make their voices heard.

The 15 minutes program will be broadcast every Friday during 7- 9 PM slot on All India Radio network covering 25 FM stations, 4 FM Gold stations, 42 Vividh Bharati stations, and 159 primary channels/local radio stations in 23 languages, i.e., Assamese, Bengali, English, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Kashmiri, Konkani, Malayalam, Manipuri, Marathi, Nepali, Odia, Punjabi, Sanskrit, Sindhi, Tamil, Telugu, Urdu, Bodo, Santhali, Maithili, and Dogri.  

The 52 episode series will cover various aspects of election and related processes from voters’ perspective. It will have thematic episodes on voter registration, Informed & Ethical Voting,  Value of Vote, Inclusive & Accessible Elections,  Model Code of Conduct, IT Applications, EVMs, stories of election officials, BLOs, etc. 

Read Also| PM Modi conveys condolences to President Joe Biden for the loss of lives due to Hurricane Ian

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *