Gita Press, Gorakhpur to be conferred Gandhi Peace Prize for 2021

New Delhi: The Gandhi Peace Prize for the year 2021 is being conferred on Gita Press, Gorakhpur. The award carries an amount of Rs. 1 crore, a citation, a plaque and an exquisite traditional handicraft or handloom item.

The Jury, chaired by Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi, unanimously decided on June 18, 2023, to award the Gandhi Peace Prize to Gita Press, Gorakhpur, in recognition of its outstanding contribution to social, economic, and political transformation through nonviolent and other Gandhian methods.

Gita Press, founded in 1923, is one of the world’s largest publishers, having released 41.7 million books in 14 languages, including 16.21 million copies of the Shrimad Bhagvad Gita. The institution has never relied on advertising in its publications to generate cash. Gita Press, together with its linked organisations, works to improve people’s lives and well-being.

Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi recalled Gita Press’s role in spreading Gandhian values of peace and social harmony. He noted that the awarding of the Gandhi Peace Prize to Gita Press on the occasion of the institution’s 100th anniversary is acknowledgement of the institution’s work in community service.

The Gandhi Peace Prize 2021 recognises Gita Press’s significant and unique contribution to the collective upliftment of humanity, which personifies Gandhian living in its genuine sense.

ISRO, Ramakrishna Mission, Grameen Bank of Bangladesh, Vivekananda Kendra, Kanyakumari, Akshaya Patra, Bengaluru, Ekal Abhiyan Trust, India, and Sulabh International, New Delhi are among the previous honorees. It has also been awarded to luminaries like Late Dr. Nelson Mandela, former President of South Africa, Dr. Julius Nyerere, Former President of Tanzania, Dr. A.T. Ariyaratne, Founder President of Sarvodaya Shramadana Movement, Sri Lanka, Dr. Gerhard Fischer, Federal Republic of Germany, Baba Amte, Dr. John Hume, Ireland, Mr. Vaclav Havel, former President of Czechoslovakia, Archbishop Desmond Tutu of South Africa, Shri Chandi Prasad Bhatt and Shri Yohei Sasakawa, Japan.

Recent recipients include Oman’s Sultan Qaboos Bin Said Al Said (2019) and Bangladesh’s Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman (2020).


Trending Searches Today | Gita Press, Gorakhpur to be conferred Gandhi Peace Prize for 2021